1946 - Born in Tokyo, Chef Kihachi Kumagai has over half a century of culinary experience. He was an avid film fanatic and fell in love with Paris after watching the film,

The Spirit of St. Louis,

and at a very young age, vowed to move to Paris to become a chef.

1960’s - Kumagai began his culinary journey as a delivery boy at a ramen shop.

1968 - Kumagai was given the opportunity to move to Senegal as a chef for the Embassy of Japan. With limited resources familiar to western cuisine, he learned to use the simplest ingredients to create the most delicious dishes.

1972 - After his stint as the chef for the Embassy of Japan in both Senegal and Morocco, Chef Kumagai joined the culinary team of the then 3-Michelin-Star, Maxims de Paris. Still regarded to this day as one of the most important restaurants in the world, it was here that Chef Kumagai was exposed to the utmost standards of fine dining.

1977 - After gaining experience in top restaurants and hotels in Paris and working with celebrated chefs such as Joel Robuchon, Chef Kumagai returned to Japan and became chef of LA MAREE DE CYAYA in Hayama, a town in the Kanagawa Prefecture. Though he came from a French culinary background, he did not restrict himself to traditional French recipes.

1946

1946 - Born in Tokyo, Chef Kihachi Kumagai has over half a century of culinary experience. He was an avid film fanatic and fell in love with Paris after watching the film,

The Spirit of St. Louis,

and at a very young age, vowed to move to Paris to become a chef.

1960

1960’s - Kumagai began his culinary journey as a delivery boy at a ramen shop.

1968

1968 - Kumagai was given the opportunity to move to Senegal as a chef for the Embassy of Japan. With limited resources familiar to western cuisine, he learned to use the simplest ingredients to create the most delicious dishes.

1972

1972 - After his stint as the chef for the Embassy of Japan in both Senegal and Morocco, Chef Kumagai joined the culinary team of the then 3-Michelin-Star, Maxims de Paris. Still regarded to this day as one of the most important restaurants in the world, it was here that Chef Kumagai was exposed to the utmost standards of fine dining.

1977

1977 - After gaining experience in top restaurants and hotels in Paris and working with celebrated chefs such as Joel Robuchon, Chef Kumagai returned to Japan and became chef of LA MAREE DE CYAYA in Hayama, a town in the Kanagawa Prefecture. Though he came from a French culinary background, he did not restrict himself to traditional French recipes.

1946年 - 生於東京,熊谷喜八師傅擁有半個多世紀的烹飪經驗。他是個電影狂熱分子,小時候的他在看完”壯志凌雲”這部電影後深深愛上了巴黎,並立下了成為法國料理廚師的志向。

1960年代 - 年青時的熊谷喜八師傅曾是一家拉麵店的外送員,這亦是他烹飪旅程的開端。

1968年 - 熊谷喜八師傅得到派駐塞內加爾的機會,負責日本大使館人員的飲食。這期間,他學會以簡單的食材及有限的原料烹調出美味的西式佳餚。

1972年 – 於塞內加爾和摩洛哥的日本大使館擔任廚師後,熊谷喜八廚師加入了當時米芝連3星餐廳 –Maxims de Paris的烹飪團隊。在這家餐廳工作時的經歷對他來說非常深刻,熊谷喜八師傅在這裡體會到巴黎的奢侈高級料理。

1977年 – 於巴黎的頂級餐廳和酒店獲得經驗後,曾與著名廚師Joel Robuchon一起工作, 熊谷喜八師傅及後回到日本,成為位於神奈川縣葉山鎮

LA MAREE DE CYAYA

的廚師。雖然他的烹飪背景來自法國菜系,但他研發的菜式並沒有因此而局限於傳統的法式食譜。

1946

1946年 - 生於東京,熊谷喜八師傅擁有半個多世紀的烹飪經驗。他是個電影狂熱分子,小時候的他在看完”壯志凌雲”這部電影後深深愛上了巴黎,並立下了成為法國料理廚師的志向。

1960

1960年代 - 年青時的熊谷喜八師傅曾是一家拉麵店的外送員,這亦是他烹飪旅程的開端。

1968

1968年 - 熊谷喜八師傅得到派駐塞內加爾的機會,負責日本大使館人員的飲食。這期間,他學會以簡單的食材及有限的原料烹調出美味的西式佳餚。

1972

1972年 – 於塞內加爾和摩洛哥的日本大使館擔任廚師後,熊谷喜八廚師加入了當時米芝連3星餐廳 –Maxims de Paris的烹飪團隊。在這家餐廳工作時的經歷對他來說非常深刻,熊谷喜八師傅在這裡體會到巴黎的奢侈高級料理。

1977

1977年 – 於巴黎的頂級餐廳和酒店獲得經驗後,曾與著名廚師Joel Robuchon一起工作, 熊谷喜八師傅及後回到日本,成為位於神奈川縣葉山鎮

LA MAREE DE CYAYA

的廚師。雖然他的烹飪背景來自法國菜系,但他研發的菜式並沒有因此而局限於傳統的法式食譜。